How To

How to and what to update in your Facebook privacy settings

How to and what to update in your Facebook privacy settings

How to and what to update in your Facebook privacy settings: Not too way back the Cambridge Analytica scandal popped up, as you well bear in mind I’m sure. Since then, folks became hyper-aware of how much their personal data is accessible not simply to Facebook, however to anyone savvy enough to get it. Some individuals may well be questioning what they will do to tighten up their Facebook privacy settings to stop future instances of their information being used for nefarious purposes.

Facebook login

The good news is that Facebook has already taken measures to stop what happened with Cambridge Analytica from ever happening once more. In fact, the corporate fixed that problem years ago, once it removed the power for Facebook apps you approve of getting personal data from your Facebook friends.

But if that’s not enough to help you sleep in the dark, you’ll be able to invariably change your Facebook privacy settings, or leave.

Deny apps access to your account, Facebook privacy settings deny app access.

If you head to Settings > Apps whereas logged in to your Facebook profile, you’ll see a listing of apps that you just have, at one point or another, given access to your Facebook data. You’ll most likely keep in mind doing all of them, but if there are any here that you just don’t know, you ought to click the “X” next to it app’s image.

Some apps can have more access to your account than others. If you wish to keep an app however are worried it’d have too much access, click the pencil icon next to the app in question. A pop-up box can offer you the power to get rid of certain types of access, like your photos, your work history, your birthday, etc.

If there are apps, you’ve got approved but don’t use any longer, be happy to delete them yet. you can always provide an app access later if you decide on to start out using it again.

Deny access to your friends’ apps
Apps others use facebook Deny access to your friends apps

If you scroll down a bit on the apps settings page, you’ll see a box called Apps Others Use. Click on the “Edit” button there.

When a friend of yours provides access to an app, that app then has access to some of your data. Facebook drastically reduced the number of access apps your friends install get once it comes to your own info, however as you can see from the list, there’s still quite bit here.

You can feel free to uncheck everything in this box if it suits you. All that will happen is that once your friends use an app that connects to their friends in how, you will be unseen. seems like a good trade-off.

Deactivate your account
deactivate facebook screen

It is pretty easy to deactivate your account. Deactivating removes your profile from Facebook, but keeps all of your data on Facebook’s servers. If you wish to activate your account somewhere down the road, you’ll be back on Facebook with simply a couple of clicks like nothing ever happened.

To be clear, whereas your profile is deactivated your data isn’t in public visible, regardless of what apps you’ve got previously given access to your profile. However, your data still exists, thus this is often not as secure as deleting your account. except for the majority, this can be simply fine.

To deactivate your account, head to Settings > General > Manage Account and so click “Deactivate your account.” You’ll be prompted for your password, and so you’ll see a page wherever Facebook explains what’s going to happen if you deactivate. You’ll even have to provide a reason for deactivation, and you’ll fill out a text box with some a lot of information thereon if you like.

At all-time low of that page is that the “Deactivate” button. Hit that, and your profile is instantly removed from Facebook. To activate, simply log in again, and you’ll run through a series of prompts to induce your profile back up. Everything are a bit like it was once you activate, with all of your photos, status updates, and apps back online.

For More Tutorials Check Our How-To Section.

Comments
To Top